My Brownie Batter Milkshake [Blog #3]

When I was little I spent a lot of time with my maternal grandparents. I was the first-born child of 3, and the first grandchild of 12 (14 including “step”). My parents both worked full time so I spent much of the first few years of my life entertaining my grandparents. Of the many stories my Yamma loves to tell, there is one that I will never forget. It was when I learned my first important lesson in cooking: eggs are not to be eaten uncooked.

from facebook.com

One day in preparation a visit to my Yamma and Poppie’s house I decided to take it upon myself to create a recipe for a brownie batter milkshake. I wish I could remember all the ingredients on the list, it took up at least a journal page of lines with: ice cream, milk, bananas, and chocolate syrup as the more common ingredients. In lieu of a brownie batter milkshake, I wanted to put actual brownie batter in my milkshake, along with other necessary batter mix-ins, vanilla extract and eggs.

 

After writing out my recipe I called my grandma to make sure she had all the ingredients. She agreed to my terms and quickly hung up the phone assuring me I would see her soon.

When I proudly showed my mom my recipe she did have the same acceptance of my creation. She shook her head and told me sharply I could NOT put raw brownie batter in a milkshake, specifically a RAW EGG. I declared my Yamma had confirmed my recipe and that I would be making it. Not in a mood to argue my mom rolled her eyes she dropped it, probably well knowing that once I got to my grandparents’ house and my grandma realized what she had approved she would quickly retract her statement.

from fueledbyeggs.com

My mom was right.

You just can’t eat raw eggs, even if I thought it would make for a delicious milkshake.

Leave a Reply

